Advancing Consulting Awards FAQs

What is the purpose of these awards?

The Advancing Consulting Awards recognize two individuals who advance the profession of independent consulting at the highest level. In 2021, there are two awards: Consultant of the Year and Creativity and Innovation.

When is the Call for Nominations?

April 2, 2021 – June 3, 2021

Who is eligible to be nominated and apply for awards?

Nominees/Applicants for Consultant of the Year (COTY) Award

  • A current member of SAC in good standing
  • Nominees may either self-nominate or be nominated by others
  • An Independent business consultant (this may include engagements as advisor, mentor, coach, speaker, etc.)
  • Nominee’s / applicant’s revenue is generated primarily through direct interaction with clients (vs. sub-contracting), AND through value-based fees
  • For selection criteria, see COTY nomination and application forms.

Nominees / Applicants for Creativity and Innovation (C&I) Award

  • A current member of SAC in good standing
  • Nominees may either self-nominate or be nominated by others
  • Nominee / applicant may be new to independent consulting, re-emerging after a downturn, or an established independent consultant
  • Nominee’s/ applicant’s revenue is generated through direct interaction with clients (preferred);
  • For selection criteria, see C&I nomination and application forms

Awards Committee members and SAC executive directors are not eligible to be considered for awards.

Who selects recipients of the 2021 Corrie Shanahan Memorial Advancing Consulting Awards?

Nominees are evaluated by an Awards Committee, comprised of current SAC members who represent regions around the world.

How are recipients selected?

The committee evaluates the degree to which the nominee meets all of the criteria on the award application.

During the month of June 2021, the nominee must be available for a brief phone interview with members of the Awards Committee to answer questions regarding information provided on the Nomination Form.

When are the awards presented?

The Awards will be presented at the 2021 SAC Virtual Annual Meeting, October 5-7, 2021. Award winners should plan to attend the meeting virtually, where they will participate in a panel discussion during the program.

When will recipients be notified?

A member of the awards committee will contact the recipients and finalists regarding the committee’s decision by September 2021.

Back to the Advancing Consulting Awards page.

Prior award winners.